The 4th Archon
International Conference
on Religious Freedom

His Beatitude Archbishop Ieronymos II of Athens and All Greece

Church of Greece

His Beatitude Archbishop Ieronimos of Athens and all Greece  was born in Inofita of Viotia on March 30, 1938. After he completed his studies, he was admitted to the Department of History and Archæology in the University of Athens. After that he was admitted to the Faculty of Theology of the University of Athens. He was awarded a scholarship from the State Scholarship Foundation in Greece, having excelled in Byzantine Studies. Moreover, he pursued graduate studies in Graz (Austria), Regensburg and Munich (Germany). 

He was ordained deacon in December 3, 1967 in Thebes by the late Metropolitan Nicodimos. On the 10th of the same month, he was ordained Presbyter and Archimandrite. 

He served as Protosynkellos of the Holy Metropolitanate of Thebes and Levadeia (1967-1978), Hegumen of the Holy Monasteries of the Saviour in Sagmata (1971-1977) and Hosios Loukas in Bœotia (1977-1981), Secretary and Chief Secretary of the Holy Synod of the Church of Greece (1978-1981).

In 1981, he was elected Metropolitan of Thebes and Livadia by the Holy Synod of the Church of Greece. 

In February 7, 2008, he was elected Archbishop of Athens and all Greece. 

His authorial work comprises articles, studies, and books of theological, social, and historical content, among which the one entitled “Mediæval Monuments of Eubœa” was awarded the first prize of the Academy of Athens in 1970. Also he published, the two volume work entitled “Christian Viotia”, “Holy Monastery of Saint Loukas”,“Monastery of Jerusalem of Davlia”,“Church Property and the Payroll of the Clergy”, “A Concise Overview of the Church Property”, and “Preservable and Divestible Monasterial Property”.

As an Archbishop, he created or completed the following structures:

  1. “Saint Porphyrios” Geriatric and Welfare Support Centre,
  2. “Saint Philothei the Athenian” Centre of Learning, Culture and Volunteerism – Camping Facility of the Holy Archdiocese of Athens,
  3. “Apostoli” Civil Non-Profit Association of the Holy Archdiocese of Athens and the General Philoptochon Fund; 
  4. “Karelion” Model Centre for Alzheimer’s and related diseases, 
  5. “Demetrion” Centre for the Creative Occupation of Children, 
  6. Pastoral Training Foundation; certified lifelong training structure;  
  7. Cultural Centre of the Holy Archdiocese of Athens,  
  8. “Maria Kokkori” Foundation for the Treatment of Mentally Challenged Persons or Suffering from Down Syndrome,  
  9. “Psarafteion” two (2) Assisted Living Hospices,   
  10. “Athanassios Martinos 1 & 2” two (2) Assisted Living Hospices, 
  11. Library of the Holy Archdiocese of Athens; 
  12. Social Cram School of the Holy Archdiocese of Athens;
  13. Ecclesiastical Foundation of Byzantine and Traditional Music of the Holy Archdiocese of Athens;
  14. “The Venizelos’ Mansion” Monument, in Plaka,  
  15. Foundation – Secretariat for the fight against the humanitarian crisis; 
  16. “The Annunciation of the Mother of God” Nursery and Kindergarten,   
  17. Archbishop Ieronymos II Library, in Oenophita,
  18. Archbishop Ieronymos II Museum, in Oenophita,  
  19. His Beatitude Ieronimos II of Athens and all Greece is a man of love, prayer, and historical research. He proceeds with his love of God and his neighbour as his compass. 
Share the Post:

Related Posts

Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew

His All-Holiness Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew

Born Demetrios Arhondonis in 1940 on the island of Imvros (today, Gökçeada, Turkey), His All-Holiness Bartholomew was elected in October 1991 as the 270th Archbishop of the 2000-year-old Church founded by the Apostle Andrew. His formal office is Archbishop of Constantinople-New Rome, and Ecumenical Patriarch, a historic title dating to the sixth century.

Read More
Scroll to Top